Creative Writing

10 Jan

On my list of subjects to teach, I have Literature, Grammar, Spelling, Civics, Power  Builder, Computers, Persuasive Writing, and Creative Writing.

Can you guess my favorite? The best is always last.

I’m a writer, so I understand that writing is an easy way of putting your emotions on paper. To speak your mind freely, knowing the words won’t judge you. But usually, the most vulnerable moments are for your eyes only. They aren’t for the world to see. Not for anyone but you to see.

So when I gave out two assignments – one for my sixth graders and one for my seventh – I was amazed at what they had to say. And how deeply they poured their hearts out to me.

I have Literature and Creative Writing with sixth grade. In Literature, we read a story about a boy who wanted to fly. I’ve discussed it in a past post. As a follow up assignment for Creative Writing, I had them write what their goals were, what would get in their way, what they would do to achieve their goals, and what would happen if they did, in fact, achieve them.

Their responses were so genuine. They want to be robotics engineers, doctors, go to graduate school, change the world, buy their brother’s birthday present, make their parents proud.

And they’re willing to give everything to achieve it.

The girl who said she wanted to buy her brother a birthday gift? She said she’d sell all her new, favorite toys. She would work all through the day and all through the night. She would do anything. Just to get her brother a gift.

The other girl who said she wanted to change the world? She said she would raise awareness. She would put it on the news, she would speak to people, she would travel, she would spread the information however she could.

Those who wanted to make their parents proud? Many of them were doing it so their parents would stop yelling at them. Or being disappointed in them. Others wanted to do it because they wanted better for their family.

But no matter the reason, they would do anything, give anything, say anything, to make their goals happen.

And for my seventh graders? Their strength is just as awe-inspiring.

In their Literature classes, they’re working on biographies and autobiographies. After reading a brief one on Leondaro De Vinci, I carried the Literature class over to Creative Writing. I asked them to write their own autobiographies.

The stories? They were humbling.

Most of these students came to Shanti Bhavan not having seen a spoon before. Some were reckless and destroyed their neighbors crops so their own families would benefit from the business. And others were perfectly happy. Though they were the poorest they could be, drawing diagrams in the sand and walking with mom to fetch water are just a few of the things that brought them the most joy.

Coming to Shanti Bhavan was scary for them. It was hard. Though it would give them the opportunity to flourish, they would have to say goodbye to their families and not speak to them other than twice a year. They come here at age four and they don’t leave until they graduate.

One girl wrote about her first day at SB. Her mother came to drop her off and when they arrived, the Auntie told the child that her mom was going to the bathroom. She never came back. There was no goodbye. It was too hard. She didn’t want to let go. So they did what they thought was best – they tricked her. But she never forgot it.

Although coming here is hard, and staying here is harder, all of the children realize how lucky they are for this opportunity. They’re changed because of it. They’re better because of it. So they suffer through their homesickness. They cry through it. And the teachers are hard on them. Dr. George is hard on them. But they have to be. No one ever achieved great potential by breaking down and just having what they want handed to them. They have to work toward it.

And every day, these children do.

I’m so inspired. I admire their strength. I’m captivated by their motivation. These children, who are so much younger, so much more sheltered, so much worse off, are better than I will ever be. They’re what I aspire to be. And to them, it just comes so naturally.

And now I know why She’s the First does was it does. Why I do what I do. If we had more children like the ones here at Shanti Bhavan in all corners of the world, can you imagine what we would achieve? Can you imagine the peace that could ensue?

They never battle. Never argue. They oblige, they understand, they respect. They’re the key to our futures. They will be the reason why we wake up one day and the world is finally resting easy.

They’ll be the reason I come home a new person. A better person. I’m forever changed because of the wonderful children that are Shanti Bhavan.

Leave a comment